Best Vegan Food, Best Vegan Products

Is Kool-Aid Vegan | Everything You Need to Know About Kool Aid in 2023

Kool-Aid is, in all likelihood, one of the most famous artificial fruit drinks in the US.

Did you know that more than 563 million gallons of Kool-Aid are consumed annually?

It has been around since the 1920s. Although Kool-Aid is popular among children, many adults love this refreshing drink, particularly in summer. 

But is Kool-Aid vegan

Yes! You would be happy to know that Kool-Aid is vegan and doesn’t contain any animal derivatives. The drink has no natural fruit and is entirely a synthetic beverage.

There are more than 20 flavors and varieties of kool-aid, all being vegan. 

In saying that, Kool-Aid isn’t wholly vegan.

The artificial colors added to the drink have been long tested on animals which may be controversial to some vegans. However, the controversial nature is highly subjective to every vegan. 

Is Kool-Aid Vegan-Friendly?

Kool-aid has been around for a few decades; more than three generations of Americans grew up drinking it. You would be happy to know that Kool-aid is vegan and would not have to abandon your favorite soft drink.

Technically, all the ingredients and, by extension, Kool-aid is Vegan. However, there are some gray areas that vegans may not like. 

Kool-Aid Ingredients Vegan Status

Along with the aforementioned flavors, Kool-Aid has a few other varieties, such as jammers and bursts. And the best part is all the flavors and varieties are vegan. 

Read this: Is Tajin Vegan?

What are the Ingredients in Kool-Aid?

Kool-aid is mostly an artificial soft drink (synthetic) without any real fruits. However, all the ingredients are vegan and don’t contain any animal derivatives. 

Since Kool-aid comes in various flavors, the ingredients may vary depending on the product and flavor.

Here is the complete ingredient list of all Kool-aid varieties: 

Please note that the abovementioned ingredients need not be present in all the flavors. Depending on the flavors, the colors vary, and so do a couple of ingredients. 

Problematic Ingredients

While there are no animal-based ingredients in Kool-aid, it has some controversial ingredients, particularly sugar and food colorings red 40, blue 1, and yellow 6. The manufacturing process of these ingredients may not sit well with vegans. A strict vegan is bound to question the suitability of one or both of these for a vegan lifestyle. 

Here’s a closer look at the ingredients that may not be vegan:


Almost all Kool-aid flavors contain sugar which is taken from sugar cane. While sugar in itself is vegan, the manufacturing process makes it controversial. 

Many companies use granulated carbon in the refining process, which makes it vegan. However, others use bone char which is essentially charred animal bones. Sugar processed using bone char is no longer vegan due to the use of animal products. 

Furthermore, the main issue here is that there is no way of knowing if the sugar is vegan or not. Many companies in the US and Europe use bone char for refining sugar. On the other hand, sugar manufactured in India and UK are vegan. 

Natural Flavor

Natural flavor is another controversial ingredient commonly found in Kool-aid. Much like sugar, the issue here is the origin, which is not always known. While most natural flavors are derived from plant-based ingredients, meat, poultry, and seafood can also contribute, as per FDA definition. 

Food Coloring

Kool-Aid uses different food coloring in their drinks, namely red 40, yellow 6, and blue 1, as an easy marker for the different flavors. Though they are not derived from animal-based ingredients, it is a gray area due to animal testing. 

Kool-aid’s colorings (red 40, yellow 6, and blue 1) are extensively tested on dogs, cats, mice, and pigs before approval. The vegan lifestyle frowns on animal testing since it is considered highly unethical.  

happy kid drinking kool-aid

Is Kool-Aid Healthy?

No! Kool-aid, as refreshing as it may be, is not healthy for kids and adults alike. It is a combination of sugar, water, flavoring, and coloring. 

A single serving of kool-aid contains between 16g – 25 gm sugar. That is a lot of sugar in just one serving. Keep in mind that adults can consume 30 gms of sugar per day while children 24 gms. 

In addition, food colorings can also cause allergic reactions in sensitive individuals. Scientific research states that red 40 can cause hyperactivity in non-ADHD/ADD kids. Moreover, red 40 and yellow 6 are also linked with cancer

Frequently Asked Questions

Is There Pork In Kool-Aid?

No! There is no pork or any other animal derivatives in Kool-aid. It was once thought to contain gelatin (derived from animal cartilage), but research has proved it wrong. 

Is there milk in Kool-Aid?

No! There is no milk in Kool-aid. It is a synthetic soft drink with no natural food ingredients.


As we have talked about, is Kool-Aid Vegan or not? Check out our other vegan product guides to keep yourself updated.

Kool-aid is a commonly found soft drink, especially in the summer months when many grew up drinking it. Though it has often faced unfound rumors, Kool-aid is vegan. As a matter of fact, all the products in the line-up are vegan. So, vegans can reach for them without a doubt. 

However, it does have some controversial ingredients, namely sugar, natural flavoring, and food coloring. All three ingredients have questionable manufacturing processes involving animal cruelty. 


Subscribe to Our Vegan Newsletter
Get our fresh vegan content in your Inbox!
Subscription Form (#5)